Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: ring finger callous  (Read 666 times)

Offline goingoldskool

• Trad Bowhunter
ring finger callous
« on: February 28, 2013, 09:56:00 PM »
Hello everyone!  I'm brand new to the trad archery and just got signed up in the trad gang. I had the pleasure of picking up a Black Widow PL-III at the end of Dec and absolutely love it, but my ring finger is developing a callous that is still pretty sore after my shooting sessions.

I usually shoot for an hour or so and that is about all I want to!  Is this something that I should expect and will toughen up over time or do I need to change things up a bit?

I have switched back and forth with a glove and tab....  same end result.

thanks,

Rodd
"NO GOD, NO PEACE-KNOW GOD, KNOW PEACE" side of a barn along I-70, eastern Kansas
                                             Rodd Boyer
Blk Widow PL-III
53#@28
Blk Widow PSR X
50#@28

Offline njloco

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: ring finger callous
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2013, 11:01:00 PM »
Do you shoot split or 3 under ? If split, try concentrating on putting draw pressure on the middle finger as you start to pull. Also check your string elbow, it is probably to high upon release. Unfortunately I can't help with 3 under as I shoot split, but someone will shine if you shoot this way, just let us know.
  • Leon Stewart 3pc. 64" R/D 51# @ 27"
  • Gordy Morey 2pc. 68" R/D 55# @ 28"
  • Hoyt Pro Medalist, 70" 42# @ 28" (1963)
  • Bear Tamerlane 66" 30# @ 28" (1966)- for my better half
  • Bear Kodiak 60" 47# @ 28"(1965)

Offline Stump73

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2013, 12:09:00 AM »
X2 high string elbow. Been there done that.
BigJim Thunderchild 54" 52# @ 28"
BigJim Thunderchild 56" 42# @ 28"

Offline Retnuh Wob

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2013, 01:38:00 AM »