Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Change from right to left handed and target panic  (Read 686 times)

Offline rendalen

• Trad Bowhunter
Change from right to left handed and target panic
« on: March 08, 2013, 07:16:00 AM »
Hello
Wil a change from right to left handed cure target panic ? I know Fred Bear and Glen St Charles did it. I have been strugling with it for 20 years and i am tired of it. I have it under controle with a finger clicker but i don`t like to use it.
Øyvind

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Change from right to left handed and target panic
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2013, 07:54:00 AM »
Target Panic is very hard to beat but it can be done.  Switching to left MIGHT help IF you do not duplicate you current shot sequence as you learn to shoot left handed.

Have you looked at the lengthy thread here in this forum named "Target Panic Reality Check?"  This may give you some tools to use.

My opinion is that TP is related to your shot sequence and what you are thinking about during the shot.  If the process is out of order OR if you are thinking about the wrong thing at the wrong time, it is easy to loose control of the shot.

Can you describe your shot sequence?

Arne
11 H Hill bows
3 David Miller bows
4 James Berry bows
USA Archery, Level 4 NTS Coach

Are you willing to give up what you are; to become what you could be?

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2013, 08:29:00 AM »
My experience was that almost anything different that I did would stop the target panic....for a while.  Heck, even if I bought a new bow it would stop target panic for a while. There are good reasons to shoot both right and left handed to keep your body in balance, but I think you will shoot most accurately if the arrow is under your dominant eye.