Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: ? for 3 under shooters  (Read 658 times)

Offline Gregg S

• Trad Bowhunter
? for 3 under shooters
« on: July 29, 2013, 05:44:00 PM »
I've been shooting three under for a few years now. I've always shot with about equal pressure on all three fingers. Today I tried shooting with the most pressure on my index finger and then less on my middle finger and almost no pressure on my ring finger. I found that my left to right accuracy was better. As a matter of fact, I shot a 3D course this way and found that the targets that I did not have a 10 on, I was either at 12 o'clock or 6 o'clock just over or under the 10 but right down the middle. Just wondering if anyone else has had the same experience with this.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: ? for 3 under shooters
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2013, 08:14:00 PM »
You may have found a way that works better for you, Gregg, although from what I understand, people typically put a tad more weight on the middle finger than the others. But I'm curious, so I'll give your method a try and see if it works better for me too.

Alternatively, you may have found a way to temporarily increase your concentration. I have found that whenever I try anything new, it usually works better than the old way for a while.  Even a new bow shoots better than the old bows for a while.  If it continues, it may really be better; if things go back to normal after a while, then I know that whatever I was trying ramped up my concentration as long as it felt new.  Too bad I can't figure out a way to make that increase in concentration permanent!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Technology....the knack of arranging the world so that we don't have to experience it.

Offline Gregg S

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2013, 08:49:00 PM »