Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Something is hitting my shoulder  (Read 768 times)

Offline Sarah

• Trad Bowhunter
Something is hitting my shoulder
« on: August 17, 2013, 07:40:00 PM »
I posted a while ago to the Pow Wow Forum about this issue but a definitive solution was never discovered.

Last year I started shooting a 48# longbow after shooting only my 36# recurve since the time that I began learning archery. A big jump, but I worked up to it using both bows for a while.

After making the switch, I noticed that when I shoot the heavier bow, something is whacking the shoulder of my bow arm. Not even my shoulder really, but the flesh just in front of where my arm pit is (NOT my chest). It stung and bruised slightly in a kind of stippled pattern.

I put down my bow for a few months and forgot about it (shame on me!) - but I just picked it back up today.

The problem persists. I am making sure not to exhaust myself shooting the heavier bow, and have been careful to maintain my form. After shooting for maybe 30 minutes today, I now have a horrific looking bruise in the same spot. Nothing is making contact with my chest, my elbow, or my forearm - only this one part in front of my shoulder is getting struck.

I don't know how this could be possible. If it was the string, it seems it would need to also make contact with my chest or arm.

I'm thinking it might be the nock of the arrow kicking out to the side on release, but the physics of that are beyond me.

Has anyone ever seen this before or does anyone have any suggestions for how to solve/troubleshoot this issue?

I shoot left handed, so this is happening on my right shoulder.

Thanks!    :confused:

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Something is hitting my shoulder
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2013, 07:46:00 PM »
Sarah.