Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Split vision  (Read 1292 times)

Offline Dustin Waters

• Trad Bowhunter
Split vision
« on: September 17, 2013, 01:52:00 PM »
Im sure the basics of the topic have been covered before, but in the interest of saving a little time doing the search and sifting through a bunch of responses, I thought I would ask.

I have been trying to teach myself this method of shooting.  I am a mathematician by trade and would love to add a little more insurance to my style of shooting.  I know that at 10 yards by gap is 17" and at 20 yards it is 26"  At 30 yards it is 27" and at 40 yards it is about 19".  If I were to use strictly gap shooting I know with my right eye closed I have to shoot about 12" right of the target and use those gaps to get good results.
Now with the hill split vision style am I still using those same gaps or do I change my gaps to where I see the arrow out of focus with both eyes open?

Offline macbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Split vision
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 02:23:00 PM »
I'm not following why your closing your right eye.
Are you shooting left handed and right eye dominant ?

Also your gaps  seem a little confusing.

Both eyes should be open. Without looking at the end of the arrow you should pick it up and it should be centered  and at the distance your gap is. Sounds like you have most of this figured out.

In my opinion gap shoot is great for winning z3 D tournaments.
But for hunting more instinctive aiming works better at least for most guys.
I think as gap shooters get used to gaping most are going more in the instinctive while hunting.
United Bowhunters of Mo
Comptons
PBS
NRA
VET
"A man shares his Buffalo". Ed Pitchkites

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 04:08:00 PM »
You can gap shoot and cant your bow. Sounds like it needs to be canted so your eye is over the arrow. That may solve the right to left problem.