Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Curing string slap  (Read 816 times)

Offline Bob Baur

• Trad Bowhunter
Curing string slap
« on: November 04, 2013, 09:58:00 AM »
I recently purchased an Abbote Longbow. It’s a beautiful bow, draws smoothly & shoots where I look. In a word I love it BUT on each & every shot the string slaps my arm about 2” shy of my wrist.

I have limited longbow experience only owning a Black Widow PL series & that never hits my arm. I believe my form is good & the brace height is set at 6 ½” (same as my Widow)so I am not sure what I can do if anything to stop this from happening.

Any idea’s/suggestions would be much appreciated.
Black Widow LAG 49#@28

Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD. -Psalms 27:14

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Curing string slap
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 11:11:00 AM »
Bob,

If the string is hitting you that far forward, it is probably one of two things.  As you mention, brace height is the first one that comes to mind.  Try raising it a 1/2 inch or so and see what that does.

Second, how tight are your nocks on the string?  IF they are too tight, the arrow can pull the string farther forward than normal, before it disengages, which can cause the same effect as the brace height.

Arne
11 H Hill bows
3 David Miller bows
4 James Berry bows
USA Archery, Level 4 NTS Coach

Are you willing to give up what you are; to become what you could be?

Offline Piratkey

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 01:12:00 PM »
Low strands Dacron string not stabilized can do that or to much twisted string too.

Offline mark land

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2013, 03:06:00 PM »