Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Who Has Plateaued?  (Read 846 times)

Offline BWallace10327

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Who Has Plateaued?
« on: December 13, 2013, 09:24:00 PM »
I have been shooting a traditional bow for almost seven years.  In my first year my skills grew quickly and exponentially. After another year or so, I had expected the improvement to slow.  I was wrong.  My improvements in shooting did not slow, but rather, stopped all together and hovered around the same level of competency for the past five years or so. Has any one else experienced this?  It is disappointing sometimes and has prompted me to think that I am as good with a recurve bow as I will ever be.  At least I enjoy the experience. That is was keeps me shooting several times a week and always trying to improve.
***$ Brent Wallace $***
NRA Life Time Member

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Who Has Plateaued?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2013, 10:12:00 PM »
Brent,

This is pretty common.  When a plateau is encountered it becomes time to go back to basics and REALLY examine EVERY part of your shot - one piece at a time.  Use video, be VERY self critical and VERY self honest.

Examine each step in your shot sequence and work on improving each step ONE AT A TIME!  Take the target (bull's eye) DOWN and work on shot execution.

I know you don't want to hear this, but your "bow list" has some pretty stout bows on it.  I suggest you find a 30# bow (or so) and really work your shot sequence.

You will find that if you do this, your shooting MIGHT (probably will) get worse for a bit but stick with it and you will be able to improve to a higher level.  Some coaching sessions are probably in order too if possible.

Good luck with it and if we can help, keep posting here.  Questions, video, etc.

Arne
11 H Hill bows
3 David Miller bows
4 James Berry bows
USA Archery, Level 4 NTS Coach