Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Aiming vs. Instinct  (Read 4176 times)

Offline jlenzo

• Trad Bowhunter
Aiming vs. Instinct
« on: December 31, 2013, 10:46:00 AM »
Hi,
I am new to trad shooting, so I'm hoping that some of you who have been shooting since the last ice age can help out.
Aiming, i.e., sighting down the arrow like a shotgun, versus instinctive shooting...pros and cons?
I can do both almost equally well, but which is better to learn for a newbie? I'm not a great shot, but ever since I started hunting about 12 years ago, animals always seem to die if I want them dead. I think my instincts are good, but maybe I'm training myself totally wrong too...thoughts?
"Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt."

Offline wingnut

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Aiming vs. Instinct
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2013, 10:49:00 AM »
Instinctive shooting is nothing more then training yourself over time and repetition to subconsciously
do the aiming.

I would start with a gapping system you can understand and repeat and then practice to a point it becomes automatic.

Mike
Mike Westvang

Offline NOMAD88

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2013, 10:51:00 AM »
Get your form true, use the same anchor point every time and focus on the smallest point possible where you want your arrow to hit. Then shoot many, many times   :thumbsup:

Offline jlenzo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2013, 10:53:00 AM »
Gapping system??
"Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt."

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2013, 11:09:00 AM »