Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Draw length question  (Read 602 times)

Offline rtdbcco

• Trad Bowhunter
Draw length question
« on: February 05, 2014, 12:32:00 PM »
I started shooting a longbow in October & have been practicing 3 or 4 times per week in my basement (we have lots of snow where I live).  I feel I've been steadily improving but in any given practice session I am quite inconsistent - I'll put several arrows in a nice tight group then I'll have a real flyer.  Also my groups tend to move orotund in relation to the point of aim.

Yesterday, after a frustrating session I told myself to just relax & shoot comfortably.  I started nailing the target!  I noticed that I was actually drawing 3/4" less than I had been previously using the same anchor.

Is it possible that I've been drawing too long from the beginning?  I was drawing to where I was comfortable but then, in an effort to make sure I was not creeping at full-draw I pulled a little further & increased my back tension.  I'm 5'5" tall & quite broad-shouldered.  I was drawing 27.5" but now I think My draw-length should probably be 26.75".

Any comments would be appreciated - there are no archery clubs nearby or I would have sought some help from an instructor or other experienced archers.

Thanks,

Adam

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Draw length question
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 01:10:00 PM »
" I told myself to just relax & shoot comfortably"  Bingo!!!!  Don't use ANY muscle not required for the shot.

In general, your draw length should not be arbitrary.  It should be the result of alignment at full draw, and I like to favor "bone on bone" alignment.  Your facial references for your string hand are a RESULT of the draw, NOT a target OF the draw.