Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting advice  (Read 878 times)

Offline Jb Phipps

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting advice
« on: April 30, 2015, 10:08:00 PM »
New guy here. Picked up an old recurve in December, sold 30 years accumulation of compound gear in January. It's like I found bow hunting all over again.

I've been shooting most days for 4 months and have read a bunch so I have some base knowledge but here's my question.

When I draw, I pretty much know if I'm "on" or not before I even anchor. I'm working hard not to snap shoot when I get that feeling. If I know I'm on target and force myself to come to anchor, hesitate and release, things work pretty well. On the other hand, if I come to anchor and I know I'm off target, usually high, I can't seem to make the adjustment needed to get back on target. Sometimes I notice that my bow arm drops on release in an attempt to lower my shot but I recognize the problem with that.
So, is this a normal struggle?  Do you expect to draw on target each time or do good shooters still have to tweak their aim a bit after reaching full draw?  I hope these aren't ridiculous questions. Thanks in advance.

Offline threeundr

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting advice
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2015, 10:14:00 PM »
Hi JB. Welcome to the Gang. This is the Classifieds forum. You will probably get some answers to your question if you post this on the (shooting form forum).
-Leonard-

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2015, 07:34:00 PM »
You're on the right track, Jb. Everything you said is correct for your stage of the game. Don't expect a steady progression; adapt to the changing reality as you progress.  The questions you're asking are the right questions;  just don't expect any pat answers. Look for the answers inside yourself and through your own experience.
TGMM Family of the Bow