Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Hitting a wall in Accuracy...help  (Read 1766 times)

Offline Michael Arnette

• Trad Bowhunter
Hitting a wall in Accuracy...help
« on: August 04, 2015, 04:08:00 PM »
Hello again,

I've been practicing every day for the last three months using my TallTines 60# 58" recurve.
I've shot recurves and longbows for 10 years this season and I'm kind of at a standstill, really I've been there for several years now. Each year it seems like I can get my accuracy to a certain level and then it just seems like I just keep hitting a wall. Basically I can hit the vitals of a Whitetail every time inside 20 yards but outside that it gets ugly real quick. I'd say my groups at 20 yards are always within the 6" mark.

I've been thinking this year and last about the number of shots at mature whitetail that I've had between 20 and 30 yards. Realistically the 20-30 mark have represent about 60 to 70% of my opportunities at mature whitetail. To be sure I've taken plenty of hunting shots at this range and so far have let's just say, gotten lucky. I'm really trying to get deadly out to 30 and just can't seem to do it.

I've been using a Rick Welch style anchor with three fingers under. I have tried 1, 2, and 3 anchor points off and on and can't decide which to settle on. Third finger corner of the mouth, nose to the flinch, and knuckle against the cheek.

My question is twofold, should I give up? Should I seek in person training?

Offline Scott E

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hitting a wall in Accuracy...help
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2015, 04:19:00 PM »
In person training is a good idea. A Rod Jenkins seminar or the Rick Welch school would also be helpful.

You shouldn't give up and you definitely can get past that wall but you have to be committed to it.

Why do we miss? I consistencies. So as we get further from our target little inconsistencies start to really add up.