Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: The Fixed Crawl  (Read 3256 times)

Offline highlow

• Trad Bowhunter
The Fixed Crawl
« on: December 24, 2015, 07:03:00 AM »
In the never-ending quest for perfection, I started shooting three under about a year ago. While shooting the other night at my indoor target, decided to try moving my fingers below the arrow about three quarters of an inch in order to bring the arrow more in line with my eyes while at the same time maintaining my usual anchor point. Didn't know at the time that I was using the fixed crawl method of aiming. Love it and my accuracy has improved significantly. I realize it's only seven yards but have a feeling it will transfer to longer distances once I'm able to get outside and fling a few.
Just wondering how many of you shoot the same way. Or do you move back and forth depending on whether you're hunting or target shooting? I understand it's banned for 3D competition.
Beer is proof God loves us and wants us to be happy - Ben Franklin

Offline wvtradbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: The Fixed Crawl
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2015, 07:17:00 AM »
I think "back in the day" we used to call that "walking the string" I believe they actually counted the servings for different distances.My anchor has never been that consistent for me to try that kind of stuff..
"I strive for mediocrity and sometimes achieve it." a close friend

Offline highlow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2015, 07:56:00 AM »
In other words, I've regressed?   :biglaugh:

Offline tracker12

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2015, 08:05:00 AM »
Find a spot on the string that works at 15 yards and tie in a nock point.  Use it all the time aim a little low at 10 and high at 20.  You have a fixed craw.  Deadly hunting method that I adopted last year.  I'm not changing anytime soon.