Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Made the switch to left hand  (Read 855 times)

Offline Duncsquatch

• Trad Bowhunter
Made the switch to left hand
« on: January 03, 2016, 05:55:00 AM »
I am right handed and left eye dominant.  I have been reading a bit on this forum and most seem to recommend shooting lefty in this situation.   I have been shooting for about a couple years right handed as that is what type of bow I could find.  I finally got a good left handed longbow at a reasonable price.  I have been shooting for just a week and the switch has been much easier than I anticipated.  I have only been out 3 times as a lefty and at first had some release and alignment problems.  Today I made some pretty good progress and was shooting dead on straight.  I still don't have my range dialed in past about 25 yards but that will come swiftly.  Advantages of being able to shoot with both eyes open is quite large.   Before I would look at the target arrow knocked and bow in a neutral position.  Decide how far the target was, then begin the draw, close left eye, aim, and release...

Today I was able to gauge the distance as I drew the bow, come to anchor and then just shoot.  Much quicker obviously.  Now I just have to train my left hand to not fumble the arrow on the journey from quiver to bow.  Thanks for the advice and videos guys, I have learned a lot lurking here.
Brackenbury "Oldtimer" Longbow 62" 64lbs @29
1973 Bear Kodiak Magnum 52" 60lbs at 28
Sammick Sage 62" 60lbs @28
Hoyt Pro Medalist 70" 37lbs @28
Darton Trailmaster 75lbs @28

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Made the switch to left hand
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2016, 10:06:00 AM »