Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Obsessed with arrow flight  (Read 757 times)

Offline Flanzo

• Trad Bowhunter
Obsessed with arrow flight
« on: March 06, 2016, 03:12:00 PM »
Hi gang,

I'm new here and figured my first post would be a cry for help.    :help:  

As far as my background, I'm a 43 year old newbie to trad shooting. I've been doing my best over the past year and a half to learn to shoot. I'm using a 37# vintage Bear Alaskan dual-shelf and a 45# Falco Spirit longbow. I shoot split-finger with a deep-hook. I've learned that I prefer low-wrist grips, so I've gravitated to longbows.

It took about 6 months before I even attempted to tune my bow or my arrows and since then I've become a bit obsessed with it, so I need someone to talk me off the ledge because I'm terribly frustrated with the results. My tuning process starts with bare shafting, fine tuning with bare shaft through paper, then even finer tuning with fletched arrows through paper.

The issue is that everything will seem nice and tuned up one day, shooting bullet holes through paper, then the next day it all seems off (arrows stiff, nock high or low). I can tell just from the flight of my arrow and the sound of the bow if something is even slightly off and it drives me nuts. Once I see something off I check my brace height and nock and I go right back to shooting through paper. I feel like I do that more than actual shooting at a target.

Is this normal or am I just terrible at this?

I've contemplated using a thumb ring with a d-loop for a cleaner release, but I'm reluctant to add more stuff to my set-up. My wrists aren't the most flexible either, so I'm concerned that I'm torquing the hell out of the string.

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Obsessed with arrow flight
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2016, 04:12:00 PM »
Flanzo,

Welcome!