Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Setting up a new bow  (Read 985 times)

Offline Jessebeaux

• Trad Bowhunter
Setting up a new bow
« on: January 17, 2017, 03:28:00 PM »
First off, sorry for so many questions lately! As I've stated before I'm new to the traditional archery world and I'm trying to soak up as much knowledge as possible. You all have all been very gracious and given detailed replies and I appreciate it. Soooooo, new question:

When your purchase a new traditional bow what is your setup steps? Do you tune the bow first (brace height) if so, does this have to be done with the arrows you/I intend to shoot? Or Select and tune your arrows first? Pick weight and feathers lengths?

What is your process you use to reduce how much you have to spend $$$ and accomplish your setup as soon as you possibly can?

My first setup is tuned and shoots excellent. However, I had to go through many weeks if not months of trial and error purchasing different arrows, weighted tip kits, bare shaft test kits and ETC. I want to avoid that this time and do it properly and in order!
2018 Bodnik Slick Stick 60" 45#
2017 Bodnik Slick Stick 58" 45#
2009 Martin Savannah 62" 50#
2015 Samick Sage 62" 40#
1968 Bear Grizzly 56" 50#
Osage Self Bow 66" 45#
2010 PSE Mustang 60" 45#

Offline crazynate

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Setting up a new bow
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2017, 03:41:00 PM »