Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting Style Question  (Read 3075 times)

Offline coachA

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting Style Question
« on: February 09, 2017, 11:20:00 AM »
I have recently watched a youtube video called The Push. I brought up a lot of great points about archery and hunting. Why is it that a person that shoots truly instinctive sort of looks down their nose at a person that uses another type of aiming method? I just dont see where it is really a big deal. Its like the debate between the 270 and 30-06, does it really matter if the person is enjoying the time in the woods. I may be reading more into it than I should, we will see. From My personal experience, I rarely have time to shoot in the Fall because I am a Football coach and dont usually get home until after dark and there isnt a range close. So, I am probably going to convert to the Fixed crawl method of shooting because I dont have much practice time and this method will still allow me to possibly do some hunting during our bow season in Alabama. I am just curious to what your thoughts are about the subject?

Offline 30coupe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting Style Question
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 11:34:00 AM »
I'm an advocate of whatever works best for you. I don't see why it should matter to someone else how you shoot as long as what you do gives you enough accuracy to make clean kills.

I shoot instinctive, but I know other methods work. I tried the fixed crawl, but it made my bow louder, so I didn't mess with it long. The video was good though.
Kanati 58" 44# @ 28" Green glass on a green riser
Bear Kodiak Magnum 52" 45# @ 28"
Bodnik Slick Stick longbow 58" 40# @ 28"
Bodnik Kiowa 52" 45# @ 28"
Kanati 58" 46# @ 28" R.I.P (2007-2015)
Self-made Silk backed Hickory Board bow 67" 49# @ 28"
Bear Black Bear 60" 45# @28"
NRA Life Member

Online Pine

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 11:35:00 AM »