Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Arrow spine  (Read 1132 times)

Offline LaBill67

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow spine
« on: March 20, 2017, 06:59:00 AM »
Question for you expert shooters out there. My bow sets right  between the 40-45 and 45-50 ranges on weight where the breakpoint is for spine choice. So what is the general recommendation, should I go for the lower or the higher spine? Sorry if this is very basic question for some, but I'm still learning.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow spine
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2017, 11:03:00 AM »
The best procedure is to tune your arrows to your bow so they are exactly the right spine, regardless of the weight of your bow.  You start with a bare shaft that is close to the right spine, and then trim it, change the point weight, and adjust the nock point until it flies straight.  If you are not familiar with this procedure, I recommend you buy the Masters of the Bare Bow series of DVD's, which you will enjoy for a variety of reasons, and look at Ken Beck's presentation on bare shaft tuning in Vol. 2.  

If you are not quite ready for this yet, just buy a half dozen of the nearest spine according to the charts and start shooting.  It doesn't really matter if they are slightly stiff or weak.  You will burn through the first half dozen arrows pretty quickly, but save one that is straight so you can trim off the feathers, and it will be the first addition to what will hopefully become a growing collection of bare shafts.

BTW, this forum is for shooting form questions.  Equipment (and arrow) related questions are better posted in PowWow.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Technology....the knack of arranging the world so that we don't have to experience it.

Offline BMorv

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2017, 12:47:00 PM »