Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: A forced move to a heavier poundage  (Read 1311 times)

Offline whiskyweasel

• Trad Bowhunter
A forced move to a heavier poundage
« on: May 08, 2017, 12:20:00 PM »
I have been shooting an old Standard Hunter Ward's recurve at about #48. Unfortunately that bow cracked on me last week. A buddy of mine has generously let me shoot a #60 Bear Montana he has lying around. I have been wanting to move to a longbow and I am a broke graduate student, so rather than look this gift horse in the mouth, I am interested in jumping #10 in bow weight.

I am having a ball shooting this bow but I am clearly over-bowed. Any suggestions on how to build up to that weight without learning bad habits along the way? Thanks to all for your wisdom.

Offline Draven

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: A forced move to a heavier poundage
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 04:21:00 PM »
Daily training without arrows is the single way I know. Around 10 minutes/day of controlled pulling and let down (no dry firing please) until you will be capable to get to the anchor. Once there you know the rest. Don't rush and try to keep the form even if you pull it just 3/4 from your draw.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 05:45:00 PM »
I think Draven is correct, although you don't necessarily have to pull it without an arrow in it. Just don't accidentally shoot the arrow through a window or something. I'm an old man and I have been gradually losing strength through age.  I'm trying to reverse this, successfully so far although I know this is a battle I will ultimately lose, by drawing bows of lower weight and holding for extended periods. If I were a poor graduate student and couldn't afford a lot of bows to play around with, I might try doing the same thing with stretch bands.