Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Learning instinctive aiming  (Read 2466 times)

Offline jonwilson

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
    • Backwoods Grind Coffee Company
Learning instinctive aiming
« on: August 04, 2017, 10:14:00 AM »
This is definitely a "newb" question.   :confused:    

I've stated in previous posts, but for those that don't know, I have been shooting compounds since I was a teenager. I have been shooting my longbow for a couple of months and want to learn to shoot instinctively. I, obviously, had pins to aim with on the compound, so I had a reference point. How do I make sure my arrows (Easton Axis Traditional 500s) are tuned for my Bear Montana longbow if I am still learning proper form?

Should I be learning a different aiming method as a beginner in trad archery?

Should I even worry about my arrows at this point?

I definitely want my equipment to be tuned up so I know that if I am not grouping good, it is my fault.

Does that even make sense?    :dunno:
Coffee for the outdoorsman:
  backwoodsgrind.com

Offline kevsuperg

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Learning instinctive aiming
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2017, 11:15:00 AM »
Concentrate on form first, if your form is solid and repeatable then tuning arrows will be much easier.
 Depending on the arrows length and tip weight 500s will be ok.  Sure others will join in soon with their opinions.
 Give us some more specifics on the bow, draw weight draw length etc and some arrows specs too.
USAF Medic 1982-1992
Life member BHA.
RMEF, PBS, Compton, idaho trad bow hunters

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2017, 11:33:00 AM »
I learned from reading G. Fred Asbel's book "Instinctive Shooting". Fred gives lots of good pointers and I'd suggest his book for a beginner instinctive shooter.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline jonwilson

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter