Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Honest Question and Call out to all Pyschotrigger Aficionadas  (Read 2722 times)

Offline KSdan

• Trad Bowhunter
Honest Question and Call out to all Pyschotrigger Aficionadas
« on: August 15, 2017, 08:39:00 PM »
So- I have been shooting trad for 35 years.  Always been an athlete.  Fundamentals and practice are a part of my life.  I posted here on TG for many years.  I have spoke to many guys here and beyond. . .  Often even about shooting.  I like Jay Kidwell's philosophy, spoke to Joel Turner a few times a few years back, spoke to Ken Beck, had 3-6 mos interaction with Arne Moe. . .  and many others.

Here are my major observations and key question about the psychotrigger and shooting ideas. . .

OBSERVATIONS:

1) I see a newer trend in "my" exposure to trad hunting.  That is:  guys going to lighter poundage and learning to hold the anchor and more recent talk of "pyschotrigger" as developed by Joel, Rick Welch, and others.

2) Over the years I have observed many guys change something in their shooting- like going to left hand from right hand, learning to use a clicker, using to use a feather, lowering poundage, etc etc. In many of these cases the "change" also is reported as the final solution to their TP and accuracy.

3) Though most often unreported except by a few (like oldrubline here on TG), after a shift into a new style, tremendous practice, training, etc etc. they find a new control that INITIALLY seems to be the remedy.  The "change" worked.  HOWEVER- (and I have seen this for many years with MANY friends)  in the moment of hunting (or even some competition shoot, 3D etc) they find themselves often falling BACK into some sort of "instinctive" shoot quickly style- almost automatically. (My story too BTW)