Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Pinched nerve  (Read 1149 times)

Offline Rick Stevens

• Trad Bowhunter
Pinched nerve
« on: October 24, 2017, 08:58:00 AM »
Has anyone ever had a pinched nerve right under the shoulder blade from shooting their bow. I have been shooting my bow for about 4 months everyday. Thursday I went to an archery range that had some 3D targets to shoot at. It was an indoor place so when you missed the target it hit the concrete floor and ricocheted off sometimes breaking. I shoot instintive but was starting to lose some arrows because of misses. I changed my anchor about one inch so that I would be shooting gap. Draw length was same but I moved up about an inch on my face. Could this have caused the pinched nerve?

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Pinched nerve
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2017, 11:02:00 AM »
The most common problem that causes people to have to stop shooting the bow is a shoulder injury.  Rotator cuff injuries are difficult to repair and tend to reoccur.  Best to avoid them.  Shoulder injuries are best avoided by learning to draw using the back muscles, and not over-bowing oneself.  Drawing to a high anchor makes it more difficult to properly engage the back muscles.  If you want to use a high anchor, it is best to draw towards a lower anchor and then raise your drawing hand to your actual anchor as you come to full draw.  Start by pointing your bow hand at the target, then draw towards your chest, raising your drawing hand to anchor as you complete your draw.  The path of your drawing hand should make a valley shaped curve, first moving downward and then upward toward the end of your draw.