Africa!

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Hog advice  (Read 2717 times)

Offline Celtic Archer

• Trad Bowhunter
Hog advice
« on: September 16, 2005, 10:27:00 AM »
OK, you guys are killing me. I'm brand new to bowhunting and pretty much new to hunting in general. I just ordered my first longbow and hope to be up to speed well enough to start hunting real soon.

The only thing that really has perked my interest is hogs. (maybe africa someday)I'm rareing to get after them.

I was just fishing for any sage advice or words of wisdom I could pry out of you guys.

I'm in Jacksonville, Fl and would like to hunt in this area (IE: NE Florida / SE Ga.)
Time and tide waits for no man!

Offline Islandlongbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hog advice
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2005, 03:40:00 PM »
Celtic hunting hogs are a blast...if fact alot of people believe they are the perfect bow hunting animal especially when you hunt them on the ground. Try this site, some good info.
 http://www.texasboars.com/anatomy.html

Good luck and have fun.

Jerry
Procrastination is the thief of time.

Offline Bjorn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2005, 07:58:00 PM »
Use heavy arrows and a 2 blade broadhead.
If you are quiet you can usually hear them before they see you. Play the wind, and you might smell them before they smell you.
Not an easy animal to kill. They are smart and cagey as heck! Contrary to stories they don't attack--thank Heaven for that!
Bjorn

Offline Dalebow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2005, 10:45:00 AM »