INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Bear Take Down  (Read 1618 times)

Offline outbackbowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Bear Take Down
« on: October 28, 2004, 07:40:00 AM »
I've just bought a take down Bear. It has a magnesium riser, size B ( 60" bow )

The original owners paperwork was included, and it was made in '73.

Can anyone tell me the name of this model. It has a shelf made for shooting off, and a spring steel adjustable sideplate.

I put a Bear carpet rest and leather side plate
on and I am shooting 2018's from its 55lb limbs.

I've been shooting compounds for a couple of years now and my trad muscles need exercise, but my first impression of it is that its not going to take long to get inside it. Very happy with it.
Three things you cant take back, time past, harsh words and a well sped arrow

Offline raghorn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bear Take Down
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2004, 09:47:00 PM »
Hi Allen;
Very nice find that bow is, especially in Oz. Somebody paid some big bucks it get it over there!
That model was called a Victor Kodiak. These mag risers are in my opinon the most consistent shooting bow ever made. Fast......not by any means! But they are stable. If you can get some 2016s they will really shoot nice as they are a bit lighter. The nice feature with this bow is that you can adjust center shot to accomodate different arrows.
Enjoy, you have great bow.

Offline outbackbowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2004, 08:02:00 AM »
Ron,
     I'm getting some 2016's tomorrow, but will try the bow out on the local rabbit population with the 2018's until the 2016's are made up.

I thought it may have been a Victor Kodiak, but wasn't sure. I had a C riser model, which blew up on me, about 6 months ago ( a minutes silence please ) and I loved that bow.

I think this one will be just as good. I have two timber riser versions, but the Victor Kodiaks just seem to be especially shootable.