INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Help, Bear Kodiak Magnum  (Read 970 times)

Offline noconw00d

• Trad Bowhunter
Help, Bear Kodiak Magnum
« on: July 06, 2005, 01:34:00 PM »
New member today so pardon my inexperience.  I recently got a bow from a co-worker who had an old bow he didn't use or want, just a family thing he had passed to him.  It is a Bear Kodiak Magnum 50#, looks almost like new.  I wanted to get back into bowhunting, and thought I would use this vs buying a new compound.  I have shot it and its nice.
My Question: based on some of the notes on this site, it has me wondering if I should be shooting this thing.  Is it worth too much as a collector to risk any damage, or is it too dangerous as it might break since its old ?  It must have been made in the early 60's since he had a picture with it from about 35 years ago.  
Any suggestions is helpful.  I just don't know what I have as I am new to traditional. I can post a picture if it would assist in helping me understand what I have.
thanks,
JT

Offline Archery_Collector

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help, Bear Kodiak Magnum
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2005, 04:01:00 PM »
By all means, shoot it! Unless there is some damage to it, there should be no problem shooting it. I shoot many of my collectables, thats part of the fun for me.

One thing, I suggest only a Dacron string. Modern string materials may damage it.

Read my web site for facts about your bow.
Shooting recurves before recurves were cool

Offline KyLongbeard

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2005, 03:24:00 PM »
I have a '70 Bear K-Mag also in #45 and will be hitting the woods hard with it this year. If you got it..shoot it.

Offline PAPALAPIN

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2005, 04:47:00 PM »