INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: The St. Charles Influence  (Read 1636 times)

Offline adface

• Trad Bowhunter
The St. Charles Influence
« on: June 04, 2008, 06:07:00 PM »
Originally posted by kurtbel5:
Hi Adface
  I like to learn a thing or two about your Grandfather too,wouldn't mind knowing more about you also.
Please share anything you are comfortable with.
              Kurt
I don't mind.  My granddad, Glenn St. Charles, had a great deal of influence on me as a photographer and psychology major in college.  In fact, my grandmother, Margaret St. Charles, also influenced me to become involved in photography.  I have been a photographer since 1996 and have pursed the field in several ways (professionally, as a student, and as a hobby).  

My grandfather was an amazing photographer and took many photos when hunting.  He even developed his work at home, in what ended up being the kitchen for the employees at the NW Archery Store.  I have some of his old photography equipment from the early 1900s that still works.  My grandmother inspired me because she made an effort to photograph all the events she attended and even took down names and address to send people the photographs she took of them.  

As far as psychology - my granddad some years back told me that he had attended college for a period of time and one of his favorite and most useful classes in his life was psychology.  I took him up on his advice and attempted to take a psychology class at Highline Community College in Des Moines, but was not dedicated enough to the class to follow through.  A few years later, my granddad encouraged me to take psychology once again, as it had helped to see people in a different way.  For as second attempt I followed his advice and 2 years later completed a B.A. in Psychology.  Currently, I've been debating on going on and getting a masters or doctorate in the subject.