INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Arrow spine and weight for a '56 Kodiak.  (Read 496 times)

Offline Ssamac

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow spine and weight for a '56 Kodiak.
« on: April 20, 2009, 12:11:00 AM »
Would like to make some new wood arrows for my new old 56 Bear Kodiak. 54# @28 and I draw 27". I'm shooting 55-60 woodies now. They are the quietest and most stable. However since there's such a small shelf, the arrows tend to the left. If I go lighter weight, the bows gets very noisy. So the question is: Can I have more weight and less spine? Given a weight requirement of 55-60, can I get lighter spines in this weight? I'm open to suggestions of carbon, alum or wood. Previous owner, Steve, recommends 2016 alum btw.
Thanks
sam    :confused:    :confused:

Offline jcar315

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow spine and weight for a '56 Kodiak.
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 09:00:00 AM »
Sam, I am by no means an arrow expert. Any thoughts on a tapered wood shaft? With arrows there are so many variables as a shooter you can tinker with lots of things. Let us know what you come up with. John
Proud Dad to two awesome Kids and a very passionate pig hunter.

Right handed but left eye dominant.

Proud to be a Native TEXAN!!!!!

"TGMM  Family of the Bow"

Offline Jeremy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 09:09:00 AM »
Yes, you can have heavy arrows that have a weaker spine.  If you talk to any good person in the shaft business they should be able to hook you up.

The other alternative is to put a heavier point on the arrows you have now to reduce the dynamic spine of the arrow.  That's the simplest (and cheapest) option.
>>>-TGMM Family Of The Bow-->
CT CE/FS Chief Instructor
"Death is not the greatest loss in life.  The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live." - Norman Cousins

Offline Ssamac

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2009, 10:03:00 AM »