3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: new recurve shooter with a few questions  (Read 358 times)

Offline okiejaco

• Trad Bowhunter
new recurve shooter with a few questions
« on: December 12, 2007, 10:43:00 PM »
I decided that I wanted to get a recurve and finally got one. I have been shooting a compound for several years but wanted to try something different. It is a #45 Ben Pearson that looks to be in great condition. Figured this would be a good starting weight that I could still shoot a deer with. Most of my questions have been answered already but I still have a few. Is it possible to string this bow without a stringer and not mess it up? Also, what brace height should I start with and how do you determine what is best? I am going to start out with some 1916 arrows, with 125 grain field points. Do you guys think this is a good starting point? What is the main difference between tabs and gloves? Not sure which way to go on this one. Thanks alot for all the help. If it wasn't for this site and all the information here, I would have been real worried about getting a recurve.

Offline NightHawk

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: new recurve shooter with a few questions
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2007, 11:10:00 PM »
always use a stringer so you dount twist the limbs. tabs usally give a cleaner release. Gloves are always ready to use as long as you have it on  :)
1) Gen. 21:20
And God was with the lad, he grew, and he dwelt in the wilderness, and he became an archer
2)The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.
Thomas Jefferson

Offline draco

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2007, 11:24:00 PM »