3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Help Me Tiller #1  (Read 645 times)

Offline Whip

• Trad Bowhunter
Help Me Tiller #1
« on: December 15, 2007, 10:53:00 AM »
I've never built a selfbow before.  I started on a stave a few years ago and chased a ring on the back, but have left it sit ever since.  I was unsure of what to do next so I figured doing nothing was safest.  Well, it's time that chunk of wood decides what it wants to do with the rest of its life - be a bow, or become firewood.  

There is a thread running now asking were the bow builders were.  I'm hoping they come out of the woodwork to give me some advice and see if we can get this thing shooting arrows.

Here is where I'm at right now.  The stave is shaped out, and I've got it bending to 50# @ 20" in this picture.  I think I know what I need to do next, but I'll ask the experts here to chime in and make sure I'm on the right track.

PBS Regular Member
WTA Life Member
In the end, it is not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years. Abraham Lincoln.

Offline Linc

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help Me Tiller #1
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2007, 11:12:00 AM »
Whip, I'm no expert but you are coming along great with your first attempt IMHO. Left limb looks a bit stiff on the outer segment.I assume the left limb is going to be the lower limb?What is the current length?
Lincoln E. Farr

Offline BamBooBender

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2007, 11:27:00 AM »
I agree with Linc. Was the left tip curved up a bit? It looks like it has a slight recurve.
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Goodbye Shiner you were always a good dog.

Offline Whip

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2007, 11:50:00 AM »