3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: curious why all bows arent cut to center???  (Read 2129 times)

Offline jacobsladder

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
curious why all bows arent cut to center???
« on: December 26, 2007, 05:18:00 PM »
Im sure there is a simple explanation to this...does it depend on how much mass is in the riser?? I know recurves are typically cut to center but not longbows... why is that? I would think cut to center would mean easier tuning and a wider spine selection... forgive me if this is a dumb question, but im still learning here...
TGMM Family of the Bow

"There's a race of men that dont fit in, A race that can't stay still; So they break the hearts of kith and kin, And they roam the world at will"  Robert Service

Offline onemississipp

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: curious why all bows arent cut to center???
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2007, 05:24:00 PM »
Mass in riser yes!

As for longbows not being cut to center, I could be wrong but there are many that are cut to center and some that are cut past center.

Selfbows usually do not have a cut in shelf, but some do.

"I would think cut to center would mean easier tuning and a wider spine selection" you are correct!!!
Dustin
_ _ _________________________________ _  _

Offline jacobsladder

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2007, 05:33:00 PM »
Yep..i was aware that some longbows are also cut to center or even past... it seems to me that if any riser was capable of being cut to center then that would be the way to go...or is there another reason other than riser mass, that short of center would be desirable?
TGMM Family of the Bow