3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: limb twist help!  (Read 458 times)

Offline The Gopher

• Trad Bowhunter
limb twist help!
« on: December 27, 2007, 08:44:00 PM »
Hello, i am fairly new to building bows and i am working on an oak pyramid bow right now. i flipped the tips just slightly but they are a little twisted. when unstrung the are not twisted at all, but once strung they are. the pictures below aren't great but hopefully they help. Whats the best way to correct this, is it possible? thanks, dan.

"The future is, of all things, the thing least like eternity. It is the most temporal part of time, for the past is frozen and no longer flows, and the present is all lit up with eternal rays." ~C.S. Lewis

Offline The Gopher

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: limb twist help!
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 08:29:00 AM »
where are all the bowyers?
"The future is, of all things, the thing least like eternity. It is the most temporal part of time, for the past is frozen and no longer flows, and the present is all lit up with eternal rays." ~C.S. Lewis

Offline Bert Frelink

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 09:08:00 AM »
Don't panick, go very ...very slow and shave a little wood off the side it is twisting to(the strong side) how much room do you have to play with the string nocks?
If you have a copy of Jay Massey's book"The Bowyers Craft", there is a great piece in it on correcting a bit of twist.
Hope this helps you a bit, make sure you excercise the bow quite a bit between shaving just make sure you go very slow.Bert

Offline **DONOTDELETE**

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 09:56:00 AM »
I am not seasoned enough to rate "Bowyers" status....but i do have a few under my belt this last year......