3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Looking for recurve advice - new to this traditional thing  (Read 336 times)

Offline elkshooter

• Trad Bowhunter
Looking for recurve advice - new to this traditional thing
« on: January 07, 2008, 11:45:00 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to this traditional thing after being a "compound" guy since I was 13(I'm almost 40 so it's been a long time).  I've enjoyed hunting with my compound and will continue to do so, but I'm interested in getting a "plinker" recurve.

I shoot about 64 lbs on my Hoyt and I know I'll have to cut that back significantly on a recurve - thinking around 50 lbs and I'm a lefty so that always seems to limit choices.

I would like to try to keep my recurve purchase in the $150 range if possible.   :)  

I also want to get my 2 boys who are 6 and 7 bows.

So, 2 questions...

1. What brand/model recurve would you experienced guys recommend for me?

2. Any recommendations for my boys - they have both shot a 15 lb bow at a local range and liked it and now want their own.  What are your thoughts on a takedown recurve so I can upgrade the limbs over time - or is that not a good idea.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

Also, as I mentioned, I've been an elk bowhunter for a number of years and would be happy to share any ideas, etc for those of you heading to Colorado.

Scott

Offline styckbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Looking for recurve advice - new to this traditional thing
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2008, 12:35:00 AM »