3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bear Bows and other questions  (Read 351 times)

Offline dano140

• Trad Bowhunter
Bear Bows and other questions
« on: January 09, 2008, 09:15:00 PM »
Hello!
I am new to archery, and have been bit by the traditional bug bad. I currently shoot a longbow, off the knuckle, and am looking for a good recurve.

I have been looking at Bear Grizzly and Kodiak bows at around 45 - 50#'s. I have also seen a Browning Challenge that I really liked.

Are those good beginning bows?

I also have a question about Bear bows. Most of them I have seen have the bear coin, and are made in Grayling, MI. A friend just purchased a Bear Grizzly, that was made in Gainsville, FL and the coin is a picture of Fred Bear instead of the bear coin. Is this really a Bear bow?

Thank you!
Dan

Offline TimZeigler

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bear Bows and other questions
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 09:21:00 PM »
You can't go wrong with Bear bows if they were taken care of by there previous owners.  There are alot of used bows on the classifieds that you should look at as well, see what sparks your interests, different styles, woods, different builders, and if you try to buy a bear or browning on fleabay you'll likely pay more than fair market value, your best bet is the people here who know the values of particular bows.  Your first will rarely be your last as you progress.  Most of us are on a 12 step program for bow addiction.

Hello dano140, my name is Tim and I'm an addict.
USMC 1992-2000
PBS Associate Member

Offline Killdeer

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2008, 09:58:00 PM »