INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: State whitetail management policies  (Read 1635 times)

Offline jonsimoneau

• Trad Bowhunter
State whitetail management policies
« on: October 29, 2008, 12:49:00 AM »
I for the life of me cannot figure out why some states have still not learned how to manage whitetail deer.  I was a trained wildlife biologist in college.  Trust me guys...it is not rocket science.  I live in Illinois which does a pretty good job.  But everyone knows that Iowa does the BEST job of managing the resource.  I was once at a United Bowhunters of Illinois meeting where a DNR official was there.  I asked him why we could not structure our gun season the way Iowa does.  This would mean more big bucks available for BOTH gun and bowhunters.  He told me it would cost too much. WHAT?  I believe that Indiana would be the best whitetail state if they would move the gun season out of the November rut.  Every state would be better off to do this.  The gun hunters complain that they would not have a chance for a trophy buck if they did this.  BULL!  If there are more big bucks out there, then there are more opportunities.  It just seems rediculous to me, that after all of the recent research, that more game departments do not get this through their heads.  What do you guys think?

Offline DBerrard

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: State whitetail management policies
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2008, 01:17:00 AM »
Trophy hunters would be better off yes, but the Gov should  be focused on keeping deer density at a manageable level and not rack size..

Due to that I don't see them moving gun season out of the rut anytime soon..most people hunt with a rifle and DNR needs them to harvest animals of any size..
Destruction of crops, car accidents, starving populations of deer come in ahead of bone growth on their melon. That's my opinion anyhow.  :)
Regards,
  Dave
David

~Kanati Klassic~ 50@26"

Offline jonsimoneau

• Trad Bowhunter