3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: NOOB to forum  (Read 401 times)

Offline Johner

• Trad Bowhunter
NOOB to forum
« on: January 17, 2008, 09:06:00 PM »
Hello all,

My name is Chris Johner and I just wanted to drop in and say hi.

I am new to the traditional arena and am looking forward to getting back into archery.  When I was a teenager my dad drug me to the range everyday for years but I only shot compounds.  I got to be pretty good and won my fair share of trophies at shoots but as with most teenagers gave it up when I could drive.

In the last couple of years I started thinking about shooting again and have finally jumped back aboard. I chose traditional because I kept thinking back to this guy in our archery club back in St. Louis that went bonkers and started only shooting traditional .  He even started building his own bows, then one day he disappeared to Alaska (you all know him as STEVE H).  

I got lucky and was able to wrestle away my fathers Black Widow MAII (graybark 56# @ 30") as he is no longer able to shoot.

the one question that I have to start off with is HOW DO I GET MY ARMS/SHOULDERS back into shape without hurting them.  I spent 10 years in IT so I didn't use my body much.  On top of that I am now a student and don't get much spare time taking 18 hours.  

Any help you could give would be appreciated.  

Chris

Offline vermonster13

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: NOOB to forum
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2008, 09:15:00 PM »
:wavey:     :wavey:

Not knowing your draw length, you may want a lighter set of limbs to work your strength back up slowly and form too. Lot different shooting a recurve than a compound.
TGMM Family of the Bow
For hunting to have a future, we must invest ourselves in future hunters.