INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: heat treat by torch  (Read 1049 times)

Offline Leftieshot

• Trad Bowhunter
heat treat by torch
« on: July 22, 2008, 09:01:00 PM »
I would like to know what gas combo you guys are using to heat treat your blades using a torch.  I'm thinkin oxy/actelene with a rose bud tip.  BUT I've never done it before.  Fill me in and whats the tecnique?

Offline Jeremy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: heat treat by torch
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 09:13:00 PM »
I've been using a regular ol' propane plumbers torch in a one-brick miniforge.

That pic has two torches b/c I made the chamber much bigger than I should have.  It worked w/ one, but was slow.

The miniforges are great for heat treating small to medium knives.  They suck for general forging though.  

This hobby doesn't have to be complicated or expensive.  :D
>>>-TGMM Family Of The Bow-->
CT CE/FS Chief Instructor
"Death is not the greatest loss in life.  The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live." - Norman Cousins

Offline theunluckyhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 09:34:00 PM »
how did you hollow the brick?
anything can happen on a texas friday night, if you dont mind your manners you dont mind a fight

Offline SKYLER W

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 09:38:00 PM »
Jeremy, can you descibe the entire process that you use with this set-up?  THX Skyler
TGMM Family of the Bow

Speak softly and carry a Big Stick; You will go far.

Offline Leftieshot

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2008, 10:35:00 PM »
Where do you get the bricks?

Offline Jeremy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2008, 08:08:00 AM »