INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: FINSH AFTER HEAT TREATING  (Read 804 times)

Offline DANA HOLMAN

• Trad Bowhunter
FINSH AFTER HEAT TREATING
« on: February 13, 2009, 09:19:00 AM »
GOOD MORNING GUYS
TO START, I TOUGHT I HAD TO FINSH THE BLADE TO FINAL FINSH BEFORE I HEAT TREATED AND TEMPERED
SO I DID ON THREE BLADES, NOW AFTER HEAT TREATING AND TEMPERING I'M DOING THE SAME WORK ALL OVER AGAIN, I GUESS MY QUESTION IS, TO WHAT GRIT OR FINSH DO MOST OF YOU TAKE YOUR BLADES TO BEFORE HEAT TREATING? THERE IS ALOT OF ELBOW GREASE IN THESE BLADES BEFORE HEATING THEM.
ANY AND ALL INFO PLEASE
DANA
"When Satan is knocking at your door,
Simply say,

"Jesus, could you get that for me?"

Offline mwmwmb

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: FINSH AFTER HEAT TREATING
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 09:23:00 AM »
I usually just shape and 80grit. because like you said there is a lot of work after the temper. but i am no expert

Offline DANA HOLMAN

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 09:31:00 AM »
THANKS
I DON'T MIND THE WORK BUT I REALLY DON'T WANT TO DO IT TWO TIMES (WORK SMARTER NOT HARDER)
THANKS FOR YOUR INPUT
Simply say,

Offline Phoenix 1967

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 09:37:00 AM »
I usually take it to 220 prior to hardening, then hit it witha scotch brite pad to give myself a shiny spot on the blade before tempering. After tempering, the color on the shiny spot will give you and Idea of how hard it is.
Lawren

Offline DANA HOLMAN

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2009, 09:53:00 AM »
LAWREN
WHAT DO YOU MEAN, WHAT WILL THE SHINY SPOT LOOK LIKE?
Simply say,

Offline Phoenix 1967

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2009, 10:27:00 AM »
When steel is heated in tempering, oxides form on the surface. The color tells us how hot the steel has gotten (and how evenly if you cleaned the whole blade) the chart below gives an idea of the colors (though the temps on the left are in C, not F)