INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Heat Treating Help  (Read 896 times)

Offline ALW

• Trad Bowhunter
Heat Treating Help
« on: June 23, 2009, 02:01:00 PM »
I'm a novice at knife making so I hope any advice I get here can help out someone like myself.  I just heat treated a couple of blades over the weekend.  They are made from 1/8-inch O1 steel.  

I have pretty simple setup.  A small washtub forge with a hair dryer for an air source.  I used vegetable oil heated to 130 degrees for the quenchant.  I have no way of measuring the temperature accurately so I'm just using a magnet to find when it demagnetizes and to some degree the color of the steel.  I heated the blades until they were non-magnetic then let them cool back down to try and normalize the steel.  I reheated the blades to non-magnetic again then let them soak for another 5 minutes.  Then straight to the quench tank until they no longer were bubbling.  I checked them with a file and it skated across.  I then tempered them in the oven for two, two hour cycles at 400 degrees letting them cool to room temperature between.  Now, here's my question.  After I quenched them parts of the blade had small "blisters" on it.  Mainly on the blade area where the bevel is, but also on parts of the tang.  What causes this?  Here's a picture (I hope) of what it looks like.

I'm sure my heating/quenching process is not exact.  But how can someone with a really basic setup like mine get a better quality from their quench?  Is what I'm getting normal or is this being caused by my total inexperience?