3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Can't get over the sound of recurve vs my longbow  (Read 445 times)

Offline bgremill

• Trad Bowhunter
Can't get over the sound of recurve vs my longbow
« on: January 25, 2008, 11:54:00 PM »
I'm really struggling with this.  I started shooting a Roy Hall Caddo longbow about 3 years ago.  Love it.  BUT  It's a one piece and I wanted to get a bow that would be a lot easier to travel with.  So I bought and started shooting a Bob Lee recurve.  The recurve is 62" 50#@28 and the Caddo is 62" 54#@28.  I draw 29 1/2" and I'm shooting 30 1/2" 2117 aluminums that weight 550gr or 30" Hexpines that weight 650gr. I'm very confident in the performance that I'm getting with both bows because I've taken game with both and only had one arrow stop in an animal, spined doe.  All others complete passthroughs. Both bows are tuned perfectly and shoot the same arrows in the mid 180's, although the recurve does shoot a few feet faster than the longbow.  I gave all of this info to get to this.
The longbow is about as close to silent as I can imagine.  I've have people tell me that they can hear the feathers in air on the way to the target more than they can hear the bow go off.  It's a very faint thunk sound.  I've even shot at deer, missed, and had them look at the ground at the arrow as if it were an acorn that fell from the tree.  FATAL MISTAKE by the way! :")
The recurve has a distinct slap then bong sound. Not loud! I'm not saying that.  But, there is certainly more vibration and sound than the longbow.  I've tried braceheight changes, multiple silencers, sometimes more than one at a time, different strings, etc.