INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Heat Treat Ovens  (Read 416 times)

Offline farmboy

• Trad Bowhunter
Heat Treat Ovens
« on: December 16, 2009, 10:07:00 PM »
For those of you who use an oven, How critical is the speed of which you get the knife from the oven into the quench?

Obviously the faster the better, but dont you loose a lot of heat when you open the door?  Iknow stupid question but i dont have an oven.

I am lookin at buying one so I can play around with some of the higher end stainless and also get consistent results with simple carbon steels.

thanx....Scott

Offline Loosenock

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Heat Treat Ovens
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2009, 11:48:00 PM »
Scott I have been making knives as a hobby for about 35 years.  The last 15 I have forged my blades and used a Paragon oven for heat treating.  Time is critical when your going from your oven to the quench.  I heard that 1 second was critical but I don't know how in the world anyone could quench with only one second.

The oven is extremely hot (1475 degrees F) for 1095/O-1 when you open the door.  The mass of the blade will retain  pretty well while it is still in the oven.  The tang will loose heat through contact transfer when you grab it with your tongs.  I always have my oil (Brownells tough quench) as close as I can to the oven.  Once I have a secure grip on the tang I come out of the oven, down to the floor and as STRAIGHT into the quench as I can.  I try not to move the blade at all while it is in the quench and hold it as steady as I can.  I would think that from the time I open the door until the blade is in the quench is about 3 to 4 seconds.

I only work with high carbon steels.  Stainless steels I understand are air quenched.  Never tried it, but I heard you could use a fan blower or even an air compressor hose and nozzle to quench with.

Best of luck.

Loose
Joe

Offline farmboy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2009, 12:10:00 AM »