INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: bottom line on quality of blades made from files  (Read 793 times)

Offline Scott Roush

• Trad Bowhunter
bottom line on quality of blades made from files
« on: December 21, 2009, 02:13:00 PM »
Hi... as you've seen recently, I'm new to making knives and right now I'm hot in the pursuit of knowledge and understanding of this craft. So far I've been looking into techniques for doing stock removal on 'recycled steel': saw blades, files, etc.

So... When I get into something like this, I really want to get to the point of making something that has true quality and lasting usefullness.  My question.... Can you make high quality, lasting blades from recycled files? Are modern files worth using?  Is there an exact point in time in which the steel in files became inferior? Can inferior steel in files be compensated for by more exacting hardening/tempering techniques??

I'm currently in the process of gathering resources... so what would be a good book for understanding the qualities of steel for knife making?

Thanks folks!

Offline kbaknife

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: bottom line on quality of blades made from files
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 03:06:00 PM »
What methods and tools will you be using to turn that file into a blade?
When the last deer disappears into the morning mist,
When the last elk vanishes from the hills,
When the last buffalo falls on the plains,
I will hunt mice for I am a hunter and I must have my freedom.
Chief Joseph

Offline Ragnarok Forge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 04:33:00 PM »