INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: working on a grind  (Read 748 times)

Offline Scott Roush

• Trad Bowhunter
working on a grind
« on: January 10, 2010, 08:18:00 PM »
I got some steel from Rooster and I started grinding some of the sawmill stuff he gave me.  This is my first time doing a grind on a nice, thick piece of annealed steel and I would like some input if ya don't mind.  I used an angle grinder to rough it out and a file to get to where I am now.  I started doing a little sanding....

There are some nicks and pits and such that I will probably leave since I'm looking for a 'brute' finish.  But I do want the bevel edge to be cleaned up and looking real good...

I was going for a flat grind, but I don't think I've achieved it. Looking pretty convex to me.

So... what do you all think? What to improve? I still have a full 1/8" on the spine.

Offline Kevin Evans

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: working on a grind
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 01:54:00 PM »
Scott Thats a nice start  :banghead:  
After you think your  almost done  grinding I or some of the more exsperenced guys will tell you how to quence it.remember its sawmill blade.
Then we will do next step.
You might want to write on paper every step you do so when you do the 1084 or 5160,you will see the difference in each steel
Take your time and do the best you can,don't get disapointed if something goes wrong .Thats how we all learn   ;)

Offline Doug Campbell

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 02:32:00 PM »
Yep not bad for an angle grinder, like Kevin said, just keep going a bit longer.

Also, you need to resize your pictures per TG picture posting requirements, they are a bit too big.

Thanks
Life is wonderful in Montana!!
"BEING CHALLENGED IN LIFE IS INEVITABLE. BEING DEFEATED IS OPTIONAL."
ABS Journeyman Knifesmith

Offline Scott Roush

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 04:52:00 PM »
Thanks guys....