INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: The Brass Rod Test  (Read 444 times)

Offline Scott Roush

• Trad Bowhunter
The Brass Rod Test
« on: February 19, 2010, 07:43:00 AM »
I was just reading on another forum that the brass rod test isn't necessarily a reliable test for your heat treat, but rather your edge geometry.  But then it goes on to say that if you really screw up your HT... then the brass will chip or deflect (permanently) your edge.  So... Just wondering what other folks think about this and whether or not others use the brass rod.  To me... at my stage as a beginner, I guess I would be happy to find out that I didn't really screw up the HT.

Also... Is there a best way to use this test? I've basically been bearing the edge down on the rod and looking closely at how it deflects as it goes along the rod... and then inspecting for any deflections that hold... or any chips.

Thanks!

Offline Lin Rhea

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: The Brass Rod Test
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2010, 09:11:00 AM »
The brass rod is a good test for all of the reasons you mentioned, but it's not the only test. I always do some chopping on a chunk of Osage. Some knives are rather small and the chopping is not a thorough test. They just dont have enough length or swing momentum to test it. The brass rod is good for those.

A good knife maker will be concerned with a LOT of things, but here it boils down to some very basic things. Heat treat and geometry primarily. Those two things can be tweaked Up or DOWN to meet the needs of a particular knife usage. Test often and in more than one way. Lin
"We dont rent pigs." Augustus McCrae
ABS Master Bladesmith
TGMM Family of the Bow
Dwyer Dauntless longbow 50 @ 28
Ben Pearson recurve 50 @ 28
Tall Tines Recurve 47@28
McCullough Griffin longbow 43@28

Offline beaver#1

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2010, 09:12:00 AM »