3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Newbie question  (Read 455 times)

Offline smdcosta

• Trad Bowhunter
Newbie question
« on: January 28, 2008, 01:44:00 AM »
Hi all,

I have been enjoying learning on this forum over the past couple of days. I am a complete newbie to archery and would like to get straight into trad bows. I have some questions and am open to any advice or direction.

1) How do i determine/obtain my draw length?

2) What poundage is a godd start off from reading the various postings i was thinking around 50. Any suggestions.

3) Is the arrow length determined by draw length?

4) For my first bow i have about a 500 dollar budget so i want to get something  nice. I have been looking at some customs but also som fred bear bows and some martin bows ( i am leaning toward a recurve). Any advice on a good bow for a beginner. The only shooting i have done was with hand made bamboo bows as a kid (self made  :)

I would appreciate any help/advice whatsoever. Look forward to hearing from you all.

Offline Jaeger

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Newbie question
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 02:12:00 AM »
First and formost you don't want to start too heavy. Think more along the lines of 40-45#. If you go too heavy and overbow yourself you will develop some very bad habits and you and your shooting will suffer for it.

Second, you don't have to spend a ton of money to get a top notch bow. Yo will get lots of suggestions about this bow and that bow and will be dazzled by shiney finishes and pretty woods. There are some very nice looking bows that are great shooters but you will pay a premium for most of them.