3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: colorado elk units  (Read 1059 times)

Offline ks8674

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
colorado elk units
« on: January 28, 2008, 12:34:00 PM »
I have been hunting elk in Colorado for about 8 years now with a compound. We have had pretty good success. This year we are going with longbows and are looking for a unit that is well suited for traditional archery. There are 3 of us going and all of have at least 2 preference points. Does anyone have any units that they would suggest? Appreciate any help or comments!!

Offline acolobowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: colorado elk units
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 05:30:00 PM »
Depends on what type of hunt you want.  If you want to pack back in, using your backpacks, etc. I would suggest the Rawaha Wilderness Area.  There is a big parking area at the trail head.  Usually you will have to hike in about 5-6 miles.  It is a pretty good area, and I don't think you need points.  Yes it is a draw area, but there are usually 200-300 leftover licenses.  You can send in for the draw at the regular time and get the license or get them after the draw at any license place ( sporting goods stores), etc.
The Rawah Wilderness Area in in northern central Colo.  It is a pretty big area, but there are good trails going into it.  Many people ride horses into it.  I believe it is area 7-8-9.  When you get the license, it covers all of these areas.  Basiclly you are west of Ft. Collins about 30-40 miles.  Check the map.  Quite a few people hunt this area, but it is a big area.  Also the elk are pretty vocal in this area.  A lot of bugiling, especially if the weather turns cold or we get a light snow.  That really gets them going.

Good Luck

Offline bowbert

• Trad Bowhunter