INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Thoughts on Makers' Web Sites  (Read 436 times)

Offline gables

• Trad Bowhunter
Thoughts on Makers' Web Sites
« on: May 25, 2011, 03:34:00 PM »
I also just posted this thread on the ABS Forum.

I am a mere apprentice slowly building up a gallery of knives and proficiency. Journeyman and Mastersmith ratings are in my plans along with increasing sales. I have noticed as I devour the web that many knife makers put up sites but rarely update them. So I am left wondering how important are maker's web sites? There must be a diminishing return to sales versus the effort to keep a site updated or, I assume that many journeyman and master smiths would have better and more up-to-date sites.

Please share your thoughts. I don't want to put up a site if there really isn't much advantage to doing so and I don't want to put up a site just because it's what every one else does.

Thanks in advance.
"Art is thoughtful workmanship." W.R. Lethaby

Offline Ragnarok Forge

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Thoughts on Makers' Web Sites
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 04:02:00 PM »
I am in the same boat you are.  I am setting up a site.  It will provide existing and future interested parties with  the option to find your contact info.  I think a lot of people fail to understand how important an up to date website can be.  Look at prepared sites where you just enter your pics and info.  They are quick to set  up and fairly cheap to maintain.
Clay Walker
Skill is not born into anyone.  It is earned thru hard work and perseverance.

Offline kbaknife

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 04:15:00 PM »
I think those who do not update their sites are slackers.
Plain and simple.
Get a site, keep it fresh, and those who follow your work will appreciate it, as well as you, when you start to see how many pay attention to it.
Those who don't keep their sites current are obviously dependent upon other sources for their sales.
Not to mention lazy.