INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Question about A2 steel  (Read 815 times)

Offline KSCATTRAPR

• Trad Bowhunter
Question about A2 steel
« on: January 11, 2015, 03:05:00 PM »
A few years ago I was given a couple pieces of A2 to try out and I constructed a couple really nice blades from the pieces. Being new to making knives, which I am still really new to the art, I just assumed you heat treated all steel the same. Back then I made all my knives out of old files and didn't use any other steel. When I heat treated the blade, I heated it up until it was non magnetic, then quenched it in old motor oil. After the blade cooled, I used a torch to "chase the colors" on the blade. After this was done I finished the blade out. This knife holds a tremendous edge, much better than any other knife I have made and over the last few years has cleaned a lot of animals. I thought it might be a fluke but both blades have been put through a lot of work and held up wonderfully. I gutted and skinned a deer this last weekend with it and after all the cutting I did with this blade, hair, meat, and some bone, the edge was still sharp, not quite shaving sharp, but it could have easily cleaned a few more deer. This got me to thinking....

My questions are:
Is it ok to quench A2 in oil and still get a good knife?

If A2 is supposed to be air hardened, why does this blade hold an edge the way it does?

Being curious about this steel I have read up on it and some makers heat the blade up to a certain temp then let it air cool. Is this the proper way to heat treat A2?

I thought maybe the steel was something other than A2 but after checking with my cousin who I received it from, he was certain that is was in fact A2. Any help or explanation would be appreciated, I know a little about different metal make ups and how to treat different steels but this one is beyond my knowledge. Thanks.

Offline kbaknife

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Question about A2 steel