INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Using micarta for scales  (Read 815 times)

Offline hogless

• Trad Bowhunter
Using micarta for scales
« on: March 02, 2015, 10:00:00 PM »
I am using micarta for scales . I have never used it before what is the best way to cut it and is the dust toxic

Offline gudspelr

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Using micarta for scales
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 10:44:00 PM »
You can cut it on a bandsaw, like wood. I wear a respirator when working with most stuff in the shop, whether I'm grinding on metal, wood, or something like Micarta or G10. I've heard some say the fumes that can come from Micarta when it gets hot during grinding can be bad-don't know how true that is. What I do know is the more foreign objects I can keep from inhaling, the better it is for my lungs. What kind of Micarta did you get (paper, linen, canvas)? I have some black paper Micarta that I've worked a bit, but haven't finished them out yet.

Jeremy
"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."
- William Morris

Craftsmen strive to make their products both.

Offline hogless

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 07:05:00 AM »
I found a piece in a barn it has a weave in it and it is brown it is 3x3x16 I am using and old file for a blade I am going to make a drop point hunter.    Thanks Jimmy

Offline hogless

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 07:58:00 AM »
I found a piece in a barn it has a weave in it and it is brown it is 3x3x16 I am using and old file for a blade I am going to make a drop point hunter.    Thanks Jimmy

Offline tomsm44

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2015, 08:28:00 AM »