Author Topic: Tillering a glass laminated recurve  (Read 993 times)

Offline Dave521

• Trad Bowhunter
Tillering a glass laminated recurve
« on: September 18, 2008, 02:00:00 AM »
This may sound a bit dumb, but I am new to building glass and wood laminated recurves and was wondering if someone could explain how you tiller one. I have a friend that has a beautiful bow that is un-usable due to the fact that the tillering is of and the string comes off everytime he shoots it and when you look down the limb one side is bent more than the other, can this be corrected easily or is it a wall hanger? any help would be greatly appreciated since I am almost to the tillering stage on the bow I am working on and have to much time invested to just make a wall orniment LOL

Online Pat B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Tillering a glass laminated recurve
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 09:15:00 AM »
Most of the tillering of a glass bow is in the lam selection and laying it up evenly. A bit of adjustment cam be made by scraping the sides of the limb(s). I don't build glass bows so someone more knowledgeable than me should chine in soon with an answer for you.     Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline DCM

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 10:11:00 AM »
"Tillering" in the glass bow game has a different meaning than in the selfbow game.  It's what we would call correcting limb twist, and the methods are the same.