Author Topic: Need help with glass laminated take-down recurve.  (Read 1043 times)

Offline crumrw

• Trad Bowhunter
Need help with glass laminated take-down recurve.
« on: September 19, 2008, 09:55:00 AM »
I am new to tradgang, although I've been a lurker for awhile.  I have post a couple times in the knife making forum, but this is the first bow building post.  I am a college grad student at UT in Austin, TX and finally have the opportunity to take the wood shop class.  I will be doing a project with laminated wood so I chose to build a glass/wood laminated take-down recurve.  I know it's a little ambitious without any previous bow building experience, but I consider myself very detail oriented and am willing to take the risk.

With that being said, I will be milling my own laminations, but I was wondering if someone could point me to a good template to go by.

I have been reading all the threads on here about glass laminated bows, but I still have a few questions.

1.  Where do you buy the fiber glass that you use?  It looks thicker and more dense then the stuff you get at home depot.

2.  If there is a parallel lam, tapered lam and a wedge, what order do they go from back to belly.

3.  I'm aiming for 50-55# at 28' draw.  What thickness do I need to make the lams?  What degree of taper do I need on the tapered lams?

4.  Can I purchase the limb mounting hardware parts at a regular hardware store?

5.  What angle do I make the limb platforms on the riser?

6.  Are both limbs the same size?

7.  Do I assume that if the lams are milled precisely that they won't need any tillering?

8.  I have heard of several glues but what is the common "best" glue?  Do I have to use a hot box? I know this might start some controversy.

9.  What angle do I make the limb wedge pieces?