Author Topic: Self bow length  (Read 1006 times)

Offline Turpentine

• Trad Bowhunter
Self bow length
« on: September 21, 2008, 11:11:00 PM »
I've built a couple of laminated longbows but have recently become interested in building a wood bow to hunt with.  Something along the lines of a reflex/deflex bamboo backed hickory.  I'm new to wood bows so bear with me.  Would I need to "chase a ring" with hickory?  I draw 29 1/4 inches and would like the bow between 55 and 65 pounds.  How long would this bow need to be?  Would 64 inches or less be OK?
 Bow length is very important to me.  I had a bad treestand accident and have to do 99% of my shooting from a sitting position.
Is there a different design that might work better at a shorter overall length?
Thanks
Turpentine
56# Black Widow MA II
65# Black Widow MA II
57# Homemade Longbow

Offline elkslayer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Self bow length
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2008, 01:03:00 AM »
No chasing a ring at all and anything between 60 and 64 would be fine. and with a boo backed bow you can even z splice the belly stock and then put a 12 or 13 inch hand stock over the splice and then one piece of boo. Thats how I do it and they turn out great. Good luck pm me if you get stuck or have any problems. Just make sure you taper your boo from handle to tip. If your tips have thick boo it will not shoot good.

Offline Eric Krewson

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2008, 08:56:00 AM »
I never make a wood bow for someone with a 29" draw less then 66" NTN. It has been my experience that longer draws are tough on shorter bamboo backed bows with bamboo failure being pretty common. An R/D bow may not have this problem but my reflexed bow do.

Offline DCM

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2008, 09:27:00 AM »